Golf has been played over this piece of links land prior to 1850 but it was not until 26 November 1898 that the links was officially opened by Luffness Golf Club which was re-named Kilspindie Golf Club in 1899.
The links were designed by Willie Park Jr. and Ben Sayers, with minor modifications over the years. The first hole, a par 3, is due north, followed by three holes directly into the prevailing wind. The 2nd hole is the only par 5, but it can play more like a par 6 or 7. Imagine what it must have been like with hickories.
How many courses can boast of a “magazine” and a “target” on their course? These small buildings were exactly that up to the end of the First World War when the local territorial army unit used the course as well as the golf club – in those days, golfers had to deal with hazards other than bunkers and the rough.
Every year some 27-28k pairs of feet enjoy these links, a testament to its lasting design and layout.
Recognised locally, nationally and internationally, Kilspindie is indeed a hidden gem.